CNC Lathe Boring

Hello,

I am new to Bobcad CAM and trying to figure out why the Lathe Hole operation has Mill boring tool fixtures.

I tried to use Lathe Turning with ID which allowed me to select my correct geometry. The tool path shows correct except the start point. I want to have the bore start at my drilled hole size.

Anyone able to point me in the right direction, I appreciate it. I don’t see how I could attach a pic to show what I am talking about if that is possible, I will do that to help give people a picture to see.

Just an FYI I am learning this software on my own as best I can. I have had no formal training or education. I learned Lathe operation on the job and manual programming at the machine itself.

Thanks.

R

set your id stock for your drill size

Thanks I tried that but it made the star position way below the stock.

I basically want to bore but the software only has Mill tools come up in the Lathe Hole feature.

With turning and selecting ID it work but the start position is off. I try to change rapid approach values and nothing changes with that.

Roscoe
I went back and looked at a couple of scenarios.
I see what you are saying about only having mill tooling under boring, you will have to make your own or see if you can pull a boring bar from the tool library.

Boring under turning instead of drilling will get you set up with lathe boring tools.

Not sure about the drilled hole w/o seeing a pic.
My guess is you need to be using wireframe.

R

Ross

Hey Rosco,

Just wanted to give a bit more feedback on this since it popped up in the recent discussions. It is tough to say the exact steps you need to take for your part since there are different ways to approach this and I can not see the .bbcd file.