Subspindle part transfer

Im new to the millturn software (version33) only been messing with it for a few days, but im trying to call the subspindle (Haas ST20Y) to grab the part pull it to do some milling, knurling and OD turning while its being held by both the main and sub spindle together. Im trying to call the subspindle in the MDI page after the last operation but it only gives me 1 category to fill in a travel distance and thats it. How would i go about doing this? and subsequently how would programing operations while the part is being held by both spindles work?

1 Like

Hello Marco,

You can look at the saved MDI functions for the Cutoff Transfer and see the MDI sequence that has been created there.

Basically with MDI you will need to manually build the output you need to be output before and/or after the operation.

If you wanted to say turn a part while both spindles are holding the part you would need to create a turning operation. Then in the MDI Before section you would need to add the commands to open the sub spindle, move over and grab the part, then spin up…Then in the After operation you would put in the codes to let go of the part and return the sub spindle to it’s resting position.

Hopefully this makes sense.

Hey Alex, i have managed to MDI the part transfer and everything goes well while machining, the only thing is that during simulation it always simulates the sub inside the chuck LOL. I Know its because i use the machine coordinates to move the sub to pick up and pull locations, this is my Post i made

G54 G00 B-20.5 ( RAPID SUB TO CLEARANCE)
N128 M111 ( SUB UNCLAMP)
N129 G199 ( SPINDLES SYNC)
N130 M12 ( MAIN SPINDLE AIR BLAST)
N131 M112 ( SUB SPINDLE AIR BLAST)
N132 G97 P100 M03 ( MAIN SPIDLE 100RPM)
N133 G04 P2. ( DWELL 2 SECONDS)
N134 M13 ( MAIN SPINDLE AIRBLAST OFF)
N135 M113 ( SUB SPINDLE AIRBLAST OFF)
N136 G00 G54 B-23.5 ( SUB SPINDLE TO FRONT OF PART)
N137 G01 G54 G98 B-25.25 F35. ( SUB SPINDLE TO PICK UP PART)